Feels Like Home


I cannot believe how long it’s been since I’ve been on this blog!  Let me just say….I missed you guys so much! 

Some of you have no idea who I am, and some of you have been patiently waiting for my return. Well friends, it’s good to be home!

Two years ago, I left the shooting sports industry for a Marketing Communications job for a workers compensation company. I’m still there, and I love it, but leaving MidwayUSA was a tough decision, especially after being there for 11-1/2 years. On top of switching industries, my daughter became very active in softball, and time on the range was replaced with time on the ball fields. I love being able to support my kiddo doing what she loved, but this year she decided softball wasn’t in her heart anymore and decided stop playing. This got me thinking about what was in my heart — SHOOTING! I’ve missed it so!

This past week was the NRA Bianchi Cup. If you’ve been around the Cup, you can relate when I say the shooters who come to Columbia, MO each year are like members of your extended family. Last week, I got to spend time with certain members of that family, including Miss Diana, and even though I only get to see these family members once a year, I felt right at home.

Photo by Diana Hufstedler

Reunited! Just missing Kelli Sampsel! Photo by Diana Hufstedler

One lucky man! Diana, Jill Baucom, Trevor Baucom, April Crane and Me

One lucky man -Trevor Baucom with Diana, his bride Jilly Bean, April Crane and Me

One of my favorite Aussie's, Craig Ginger

One of my favorite Aussie’s, Craig Ginger

My BBQ date, Kim Beckwith -- thanks for letting him take me, Cheryl!

My BBQ date, Kim Beckwith — thanks for letting him take me, Cheryl!

One of the coolest cats from Louisiana, Mr. George Mowbray

One of the coolest cats from Louisiana, Mr. George Mowbray

I didn’t shoot the Cup this year, but it looks like next year might be my year. Now that I’ve got some ammo, it’s time to start getting my feet wet again. I’m shooting my first match in more than two years on June 2. I’m a little nervous, because shooting a match isn’t like riding a bike. Regardless, it will be great to get back out there. Let’s hope my gun belt still fits!

See you guys and gals on the range soon!

Beth

This entry was posted in Bianchi Cup, Fabulous Females, NRA, Range Day, Top Shooters and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Feels Like Home

  1. Kim says:

    Great Decision! You are invited out to Larned for a training session with us any time Beth😄

  2. Malcom says:

    Beth so nice to see you and hear from you again, I have missed you, glad to hear all has been well

Leave a Reply

